The Soup Kitchen
November 17, 2018


The Soup Kitchen
31-33 Spear Street, Northern Quarter, Manchester, M1 1DF, GB


Saturday, November 17, 2018
7:00 PM

Share this event with your friends

Box Office Tickets

Resale Tickets

Artists Performing

Tricot on Thrillcall: concerts, tour dates, & shows

Tricot Biography

Tricot (Japanese: トリコ, Hepburn: toriko, (often stylised tricot)) is a math rock band from Kyoto, Japan. Known for their intricate rhythms and visual identity, they have released four EPs and three full-length albums. They were described by Rolling Stone as "Adrenalized math rock sped up and given pop's candy coating". They have toured extensively in Japan, as well as playing in Singapore, the United Kingdom and Europe. In 2015 they launched their first North American tour, followed shortly by a full European tour in 2016.

In 2011, right after Kazutaka Komaki joined the band as drummer, they established their own label, BAKURETSU RECORDS.
In 2013, Tricot released their first full-length album T H E, which charted at #18 on the Oricon Albums Chart. In 2014 they toured Europe for four music festivals. They later supported Pixies at the Eden Sessions in the UK.
In 2014, Kazutaka Komaki left the band due to musical differences.
In 2015, Tricot released their second album A N D, which charted at #34 on Oricon. The first single for the album, "E", was premiered on the NME website. In March they performed their song Niwa in a live session, again premiered on NME, joined by all five drummers who played on the album.
The band's third full-length album, 3, was released in 2017, and was supported by a world tour and later 47-prefecture tour in Japan. At the end of the tour's final concert it was announced that Yuusuke Yoshida, who toured with Tricot since 2016, has become a full-time member, becoming only second official drummer in band's history.
Ikumi "Ikkyu" Nakajima - vocals, guitar (2010–present)
Motoko "Motifour" Kida - guitar, backing vocals (2010–present)
Hiromi "Hirohiro" Sagane - bass, backing vocals (2010–present)
Yuusuke Yoshida - drums (2017-present; 2016–2017 touring)
Former members
Kazutaka Komaki - drums (2011-2014)
Miyoko Yamaguchi - drums (2015-2016; touring)