The Notwist
May 1, 2019


Marburg, DE


Wednesday, May 1, 2019
8:30 PM

Share this event with your friends

Box Office Tickets

Tickets from €29 EUR

Resale Tickets

Artists Performing

The Notwist on Thrillcall: concerts, tour dates, & shows
The Notwist

The Notwist Biography

The Notwist /ˈnoʊ.twɪst/ are a German indie rock band. Formed in 1989, the band moved through several musical incarnations despite maintaining a relatively stable line-up. While their early records moved through heavy metal into dark indie rock, their recent efforts for which they have received the most attention have been strongly influenced by the electronica scene, along with the other groups on the record label Morr Music.

The Acher brothers and Messerschmid formed the group in 1989 in Weilheim in Oberbayern, near Munich. In 1990 they recorded their self-titled debut, a grunge-metal oriented LP. 1992 saw the release of Nook, which has an indie rock sound, while their 1995 album 12 contains their first flirtation with electronics. Martin Gretschmann then joined the group in 1997. Shrink, released in 1998, is a jazz-electro-rock album. In 1998 Cynthia Dall did the vocals for a remix of "Torture Day" by The Notwist. The album Neon Golden (released in 2002) put them on the map for American listeners, with its heartfelt sentiment and more pop-oriented sound.
Messerschmidt left the group in 2007 and was replaced by Andi Haberl. The band's sixth full-length record, The Devil, You + Me, was released in Europe in May 2008. On June 17, 2008 the album was released in North America on Domino Records.
In 2009 they recorded Storm, a soundtrack to the film of the same name from Hans-Christian Schmid. In late 2012 they began playing songs from a new album on tour. The album, Close to the Glass, was released on February 24, 2014 under Sub Pop Records
In January 2015, Close to the Glass was nominated for IMPALA's European Independent Album of the Year Award.

Collaborations and side projects:
The group has been remixed by Four Tet, Caribou, Grizzly Bear, Console, Loopspool, Panda Bear and others. Singer Markus Acher also collaborated with Anticon and rapper/producer Alias on the song "Unseen Sights". In 1991, Markus Acher made a noise, post rock band Village of Savoonga in Weilheim, Germany. They released Village Of Savoonga(1992), Philipp Schatz(1996) and Score(1997).
The Notwist formed a group with Themselves named 13 & God, whose eponymous debut was released in 2005. Markus Acher, in addition to his work with The Notwist and 13 & God, also works with the band Lali Puna, while Mecki Messerschmidt now also plays drums for the recently reformed Schweisser. Michael Acher composes and programs for Ms. John Soda.


Current members:
Markus Acher -- guitar, vocals (1989-present),
Micha Acher -- bass (1989-present),
Martin Gretschmann (aka Console and Acid Pauli) -- programming (1997-present),
Andi Haberl -- drums (2007-present),

Former members:
Martin Messerschmid -- drums (1989-2007)