Jesse Malin, The Liza Colby Sound
HI-Fi Bar
January 31, 2019


HI-Fi Bar
169 Avenue A, New York, NY, 10009, US


Thursday, January 31, 2019
7:30 PM

Share this event with your friends

Box Office Tickets

Resale Tickets

Artists Performing

Jesse Malin on Thrillcall: concerts, tour dates, & shows
Jesse Malin

Jesse Malin Biography

Jesse Malin (born January 26, 1968 in Flushing, Queens, New York, U.S.) is a rock musician. He is currently a solo recording artist.

Malin began his music career, at the age of 12, as the front-man for the seminal New York City hardcore band Heart Attack. Following the demise of that band in 1984, Jesse worked on several other projects, including the band Hope, before joining glam punk band D Generation for which he was the lead singer for eight years. As one of New York City's most noted bands of 1990s, D Generation released three albums, including No Lunch before eventually disbanding in April 1999.
Malin didn't stop writing music and went on to form two other projects, PCP Highway (with former D Generation bandmates Howie Pyro and Joe Rizzo) and Bellvue (also named Tsing-Tsing for a brief time); the latter band released one album, To Be Somebody on Goldenseal Records. The album included versions of songs that would later be reworked for Malin's first two solo albums, including Solitaire, Basement Home, Brooklyn and Downliner.
Solo career
Being a fan of Neil Young, Tom Waits and Steve Earle affected his work; he spent the next two years working on a fresh sound. Former Whiskeytown front-man Ryan Adams, who'd been a friend of Malin since the D Generation days, was impressed with Malin's new material. Adams offered to produce Malin's debut album despite the fact that he'd never produced a record before. The two headed into Loho Studios in New York in January 2001 and made an album in just six days. A deal with Artemis Records soon followed. The Fine Art of Self Destruction appeared in the United Kingdom in October 2002; lead off first single, "Queen of the Underworld" was a moderate hit and the British press quickly hailed Malin's debut as one of the year's best.
Stateside fans were eventually able to purchase the album "The Fine Art of Self-Destruction' in January 2003. Tour dates followed, both in America and the United Kingdom. Malin contributed to two cover albums, first he covered "Hungry Heart" for Light of Day: A Tribute to Bruce Springsteen, and then he recorded a cover of The Clash's "Death Or Glory" on the tribute White Riot Vol. 2: A Tribute to The Clash. He also picked up a nomination for the Shortlist Music Prize.
By November 2003 he was back in the studio recording tracks his second album, The Heat, which was released in June 2004, accompanied by a string of tour dates on both sides of the Atlantic.
Malin has also collaborated with Ryan Adams & Johnny T to form the band The Finger (the pair adopted the pseudonyms "Irving Plaza" and "Warren Peace" respectively) who released two EPs which were later collected into the album We Are Fuck You.
Malin's album, Glitter in the Gutter was released on March 20, 2007. It also featured a cover of The Replacements' "Bastards of Young" and a duet with Bruce Springsteen on "Broken Radio." A music video was also made to accompany "Broken Radio."
Malin released a 'live in the studio' album, "Love It To Life" in November 2007 on the One Little Indian label for sale in the UK. Recorded live at Gigantic Recording Studios in New York City, NY and featured songs from his previous albums. He used the title again in 2010 for an album of new material.
Malin released a covers album on 7 April 2008 entitled On Your Sleeve, containing covers of songs by, among others, The Ramones, Sam Cooke, Neil Young and The Hold Steady, as well as a studio recording of a long-time live favourite, Fred Neil's "Everybody's Talkin'."
In 2010, Malin formed a band called Jesse Malin and the St. Mark's Social and released a new album called Love It To Life; the title comes from a quote by Joe Strummer. (The title was previously used on a 2007 UK release of live material on the One Little Indian label.) Featuring a more rockier approach, the album's first single was "Burning The Bowery" and next single was "All The Way From Moscow." Love It To Life was referred to as "the best album of his career" by Paste Magazine.
Malin was also a judge for the 9th annual Independent Music Awards.
In December 2010, Malin, along members of Green Day, formed the band 'Rodeo Queens'. They released one song, along with a video, called 'Depression Times'.
D Generation reunited in 2011 and continue to play live.
Malin currently owns or operates various bars and music venues in New York City's East Village neighborhood; including: the Bowery Electric, Niagara, and others.