February 15, 2019


Toldbodgade 6, 8000, Aarhus, DK


Friday, February 15, 2019
9:00 PM

Share this event with your friends

Box Office Tickets

Tickets from 165 kr. DKK

Resale Tickets

Artists Performing

Artillery on Thrillcall: concerts, tour dates, & shows

Artillery Biography

Artillery is a Danish thrash metal band. They participated in the early development of the genre, and their highly energetic, riff-centric and often fast-paced music is similar in style to that of Voivod, Coroner, Megadeth and Sabbat from the same era. After releasing three full-length albums and touring extensively throughout the 1980s and early 1990s, Artillery disbanded in 1991, but decided to reform seven years later, only to disband once again in 2000. However, they reformed again in 2007 and are still together today.

The band formed in 1981 in Taastrup, a suburb to Copenhagen by drummer Carsten Nielsen and guitarist Jørgen Sandau while they were visiting Mercyful Fate at their rehearsal room. Later on they agreed to name the band Artillery from the track "Heavy Artillery" from Tank's album "Filth Hounds Of Hades". After trying several musicians, the line up became: guitarists Jørgen Sandau and Michael Stützer, bassist Morten Stützer, drummer Carsten Nielsen and singer Per Onink. The group recorded the demos "We Are the Dead" (1982), 'Shellshock and Deeds of Darkness in 1984.
Artillery's first commercial debut came in early 1985 with the inclusion of the song "Hey Woman," on Volume One of the Speed Metal Hell compilation series which was released on New Renaissance Records. Later that year, Carsten Lohmann left and was replaced by Flemming Rönsdorf. Later the same year, Artillery recorded a third demo, Fear of Tomorrow, signed with Neat Records, and released their first album, also titled Fear of Tomorrow. In 1986, Carsten Nielsen was contacted by Quorthon of Bathory asking him if he was interested in drumming for Bathory. Nielsen turned down the offer since he thought Artillery would become a much bigger band than Bathory. Their second album, Terror Squad, was released in 1987.
Guitarist Jørgen Sandau Putza left the band in 1989. Bassist Morten Stützer took over his position, lending the bass to recruit Peter Thorslund. Their third album, By Inheritance, was released in 1990 on both LP and CD, by Roadrunner Records. Artillery disbanded in 1991, some of the members pursuing musical projects of their own during the rest of the 1990s.
Following the 1998 release of an Artillery compilation CD, Deadly Relics by Mighty Music, featuring a mix of old demo recordings and two songs from the 1989 promotional tape, the band reformed to record a fourth album, B.A.C.K, which was released in 1999 by Die Hard Music. Then in 2000, Artillery decided to split up again.
In 2007, the band released a limited edition 4-CD boxset entitled Through the Years, which contains the band's four studio albums and all their demo material.
On November 6, 2007, Michael Stützer confirmed on the official Artillery website that they were once again active. However, longtime Artillery singer Flemming Rönsdorf did not participate. On November 27 the same year, it was confirmed that singer Søren Adamsen would be the new frontman. This line-up recorded two albums - namely, When Death Comes from 2009 and My Blood from 2011.
On April 12, 2012, drummer Carsten Nielsen announced that he was leaving the band after a U.S.A./South America tour in May that year. On September 26 the same year, it was also announced that Søren Adamsen has left the band and was replaced by Michael Bastholm Dahl. The new Artillery lineup is currently working on a new album entitled Legions, which they began recording in February 2013, and which is to be released on Metal Blade. On October 7, 2013, Metal Blade released the first video single from Legions in the form of the track "Chill My Bones (Burn My Flesh)".

Current members
Michael Bastholm Dahl – vocals
Michael Stützer – guitars
Morten Stützer – guitars
Peter Thorslund – bass
Josua Madsen – drums
Past members
Flemming Rönsdorf
Per Onink
Carsten Lohman
John Mathias
Mickey Find
Søren Nico Adamsen
Jørgen Sandau
Samir Belmaati
Mikael Ehlert
Michael "Romchael" Nielsen
Per M. Jensen
Henrik Quaade
Benny balschmidt
Anders Gyldenøhr
Carsten Nielsen