Sofia Talvik
April 5, 2019


Diehloer Straße 79 , Eisenhüttenstadt, 15890, DE


Friday, April 5, 2019
8:00 PM

Share this event with your friends

Box Office Tickets

Tickets from €14.70 EUR

Resale Tickets

Artists Performing

Sofia Talvik on Thrillcall: concerts, tour dates, & shows
Sofia Talvik

Sofia Talvik Biography

Sofia Talvik (born 24 November 1978 in Gothenburg, Västra Götaland County) is a Swedish musician and singer/songwriter. Her music often blends elements of folk and pop; she also uses a lot of acoustic instruments in her songs, including violins, cellos, trombones, and acoustic guitar.

Talvik released her debut album, Blue Moon, in 2005. It was recorded and produced entirely by Talvik herself, taking just 40 hours to record.
Her second album, Street of Dreams, was released in 2007, and features Bernard Butler, guitarist in former British band Suede on the track "It's Just Love", the first single to be released from the album. Talvik had been looking for a partner with whom to duet on the single, and contacted Butler via MySpace while working on the album.
Her third album, Jonestown, was released at the end of August 2008 and is the second album released on her own record label Makaki Music. The album and title track are named after the sanctuary built by the cult Peoples Temple (founded by pastor Jim Jones), where over 900 people committed suicide. Jonestown was produced by Swedish artist Tobias Fröberg who also produced Peter Morén from Peter Bjorn and John.
In August 2008, Talvik became the first Swedish female artist to play the Lollapalooza festival in Chicago, Illinois.
Florida is Sofia Talvik's fourth album, which was released in May 2010, and was partially written during a time when Talvik lived in Orlando, Florida, though it was recorded back in Stockholm, Sweden.
In 2010, Talvik (along with Wille Crafoord and Mange Schmidt) performed an official song for the Swedish election, supporting the Prime Minister and the leading Swedish party Moderaterna.
During 2011 Sofia Talvik released four EPs that formed the project L.O.V.E. Another project called H.A.T.E, (four rock bands covering each of the EPs) was also released alongside L.O.V.E. The participating bands were Ball of Mayhem, UK, and G.A.I.N, Badmouth and Akribi from Sweden. All the releases in the L.O.V.E project were fan funded
On January 31, 2012, Sofia Talvik released her fifth album, "The Owls Are Not What They Seem" - a largely acoustic album featuring reworked versions of the new tracks from the L.O.V.E project. The title is taken from the TV show Twin Peaks by David Lynch.
Sofia Talvik embarked on her US tour "Drivin' & Dreaming" in December 2011. The tour went on for 1,5 years. In May 2012 Sofia did her 100th show on the tour at Pianos in New York City.
Talvik released her first Daytrotter session on September 21, 2012 where she covered the song Wichita Lineman by Jimmy Webb and the song "So" an original by Talvik which was later released on her 2015 album Big Sky Country.
In October 2013 Talvik released a book called "Drivin' & Dreaming - One artist's odyssey through America" about her U.S tour. She also released a live album, "Drivin' & Dreaming LIVE" with recordings made on the tour.
Talvik released Big Sky Country, her 6th full-length album with original songs partially inspired by long U.S tour, and a cover of Buffy Sainte-Marie's Starwalker, in April 2015.