Demob Happy
The Soup Kitchen
February 28, 2019


The Soup Kitchen
31-33 Spear Street, Northern Quarter, Manchester, M1 1DF, GB


Thursday, February 28, 2019
7:30 PM

Share this event with your friends

Box Office Tickets

Resale Tickets

Artists Performing

Demob Happy on Thrillcall: concerts, tour dates, & shows
Demob Happy

Demob Happy Biography

Demob Happy are an English alternative rock band, formed in 2008 in Newcastle upon Tyne and now based in Brighton. The band is composed of singer-bassist Matthew Marcantonio, drummer Thomas Armstrong and guitarist Adam Godfrey.
Originally a four piece, the band's original lead guitarist Mathew Renforth left the band in mid-late 2016.

The band toured locally around their native Newcastle, before relocating south to Brighton a couple of years later as "there's not enough of a music scene in Newcastle, so bands don't get a lot of attention, although it's a musical city". The band released their digital-only debut EP You Shook the Soul in May 2011 and follow up single Rattlesnake in February 2012.They released their first physical release in the form of the 7" single Succubus in November 2014 via their own label Milk Parlour Records. In April 2015 the band released their first EP for new record label So Recordings in the form of the limited edition Record Store Day release Young & Numb EP on 10" vinyl. The band released their debut album Dream Soda in October 2015. The band co-own the Nowhere Man cafe in Brighton which is run by Marcantonio's brother Andrew where they also rehearse in the basement.In October 2016, the band embarked on a co-headline tour with fellow-Brighton based band Tigercub as a three piece. Lead guitarist Mathew Renforth's absence was not mentioned prior to or during the tour. The band officially confirmed their status as a 3 piece via Facebook when they uploaded a new press photo without Renforth present. The band are set to release new Tom Dalgety-produced single Dead Dreamers on 5 May 2017 via Atlantic Records imprint Taste & Tone.On 23 March 2018, the band released their second album Holy Doom, which was preceded by the singles Be Your Man and Loosen It.
Band members
Current members
Matthew Marcantonio – lead vocals, bass
Thomas Armstrong – drums
Adam Godfrey – guitarFormer members
Mathew Renforth – guitar