Rob Sonic
Ophelia's Electric Soapbox
March 28, 2019

with Brett Gretzky


Ophelia's Electric Soapbox
1215 20th Street, Denver, CO, 80202, US


Thursday, March 28, 2019
9:00 PM

Share this event with your friends

Box Office Tickets

Resale Tickets

Artists Performing

Rob Sonic on Thrillcall: concerts, tour dates, & shows
Rob Sonic

Rob Sonic Biography

Robert Smith, known professionally as Rob Sonic, is a hip hop artist from The Bronx. He is a former member of hip hop group Sonic Sum and a current member of hip hop group Hail Mary Mallon.

Robert Smith was born in Washington, D.C and grew up in the Bronx. As a child, he devoted himself to music of various genres. He was a follower of artists such as The Beatles, Run DMC, Kraftwerk, Talking Heads, Led Zeppelin, Public Enemy, Muddy Waters, Ultramagnetic MC's, and The Clash.
In 2000, Smith gained critical acclaim as the front man of the group Sonic Sum, whose first album The Sanity Annex won rave reviews in the United States, Europe and Japan, with Spin voting it the "2nd Best Album of the Year that No One Heard". Word got around and soon came offers from artists like DJ Krush and Funkstörung to work with them on their albums, a collaboration with Slug and Mike Ladd, as well as shout outs from Radiohead, Bobbito Garcia, Autechre and others.
In 2003, Smith signed to Definitive Jux after he and label head El-P realised they shared the same management. He released his first solo album Telicatessen on the label in 2004, and his second, Sabotage Gigante, in 2007. The song "Sniper Picnic" from Telicatessen was featured in the game Tony Hawk's American Wasteland. Additionally, the song "Brand New Vandals" was featured in Skate 3. Smith appears on the tracks "Dark Heart News" and "The Harbor Is Yours" from Aesop Rock's 2007 album None Shall Pass.
In 2011, Smith released the album Are You Gonna Eat That? on Rhymesayers Entertainment with Aesop Rock and DJ Big Wiz under the alias Hail Mary Mallon. The group's second album, Bestiary, was released in 2014 on the same label.